Skip to product information
1 of 4

Kids Bolo Academy

Level 1 (12 Urdu classes) - July 2022

Regular price $180.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $180.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Cost is per child. 10% discount automatically applied to 2nd sibling at checkout

Class Times

 

Our Urdu Conversational Classes are designed to help kids living outside Pakistan get comfortable with the beautiful Urdu language. 

Level 1 Objective:

Identify and understand some common words and phrases used in everyday language

Language of instruction:

English + Urdu. These classes are designed for kids who are native English speakers with little to no current knowledge of Urdu. The earlier classes will be heavier on English than Urdu and slowly transition to a mix appropriate for the students

Classes Offered (starting week of July 11th):

You will have to select ONE of the following sections to enroll your child(ren) in:

  1. Tue and Thu: 12pm EST / 9am PST / 5pm BST
  2. Tue and Thu: 6pm EST / 3pm PST
  3. Wed and Fri: 12pm EST / 9am PST / 5pm BST
  4. Wed and Fri: 6pm EST / 3pm PST
  5. Thu 6pm EST / 3pm PST and Sun 1pm EST / 10am PST
  6. Thu 7pm EST / 4pm PST and Sun 2pm EST / 11am PST
  7. Thu: 5pm PST (Fri 10am Australia) and Sat: 5pm PST (Sun 10am Australia)

Class Structure:

12 total classes
  • 11 small group classes (3-5 children): 40 minutes each
  • Last class will be a 1-on-1 review session with the instructor: 30 minutes (we will reach out separately to schedule this class)

Age Group:

5-8 years old

Child's current ability to understand Urdu:

Little to none

Child's current ability to speak Urdu:

Little to none

Student Goals:

  1. Understand questions from teachers and give simple answers
  2. Briefly introduce themselves in Urdu (name, age, etc)
  3. Express things they like in a simple manner (colours, activities, etc.)

Note:

In some cases, we have accepted non-refundable deposits to secure your spots in our classes. Please complete your payment using the invoice that was emailed to you. If you have not received your invoice, please contact us immediately.

Teachers

Masooma A.

- Masters in Early Childhood Studies (Ryerson University, Toronto)

- Bachelors in Psychology (York University, Toronto)

- 15 years of tutoring experience with ages 5-17

- Experience with curriculum design and creation of academic support plans

- Not-for-profit background (previous roles as Education Coordinator and Manager of Stewardship)

- Co-founder of Kids Bolo!

Injila W.

- Diploma in Montessori Teachers Education from Canada

- Bachelor in Arts (Political Science, Economics) from Pakistan
- Teacher at a private Montessori school in Toronto

- Taught grades 1-3 in a reputed school in Karachi

- Public speaking, debating and hosting background during college years

- Author of 2 books, "Khizer's Brave Truth" and "Let's Celebrate Eid / Aao Eid Manaein"

Teachers will be added/changed for the July cohort

Topics

Level 1 will include topics such as:

- Getting to know you

- I like / I don't like phrases

- Daily Routine

- Show and Tell

- Colours / Numbers

- I want / I don't want

- Outdoor objects

- Opposites

- Story time (Kids Bolo book)

- Show and Tell

Location / technology

All classes will take place on Zoom. Links will be provided closer to the starting date.

Resources provided

- Interactive / digital practice resources to be provided at the end of each class

- You do NOT require to have the Kids Bolo books and talking pen (although they will be great for practice!)